Rootbeer Float Cupcakes

rootbeer 5

rootbeer 6

rootbeer 2

The other day I had the opportunity to make ginger ale cupcakes, complete with ginger ale flavoured buttercream. I was intrigued by the recipe the moment I saw it, but I didn’t know exactly what to expect. As it turns out, they were incredibly delicious and are actually one of my current favourite flavours.

Baking with soda is not new to me. One of my favourite cupcake recipes involves simmering coca-cola with cocoa to make delicious chocolate cupcakes. But making the ginger ale cupcakes inspired me to try different types of soda without the pairing of chocolate. I decided to adapt the ginger ale cupcakes to use root beer instead. I also added a little bit of cinnamon instead of ginger to give them a little bite. I was hoping the majority of the root beer flavour would come out in the buttercream, but as it turns out, the overall flavour was not overwhelmingly rootbeer-ish. But they were still absolutely delicious!

I’m going to work on adapting this recipe to get more of a root beer flavour. Until then, they will definitely be enjoyed for what they are! Yum!

rootbeer 3

rootbeer 7

Leave a Comment

