FASHION-FORWARD COOKIES

IMG_6205

Do you remember when Gwen Stefani first came out with her Love. Angel. Music. Baby. album? It was quirky and odd, but I will be the first to admit that I was so hooked. I remember the sixth grade version of myself being glued to the television as the Alice-In-Wonderland-esque music videos played on the weekly countdown. My best friend even got the album for her birthday and I remember her lending it to me to listen to on my CD walkman. Those were the days.

I think the reason I was so obsessed with that album was because it was so different from anything else that was popular in the music business at the time. Gwen Stefani was bold, fun, and fresh. She has evolved since the release of that album, but she has never stopped being bold and exciting. She established a clothing line called L.A.M.B that has done incredibly well on the fashion scene. It is characterized by vivid, rocker-meets-classic patterns and stark, yet vibrant, colours.

In other words: the line would make a playful and incredibly fun inspiration for a set of 30th birthday cookies.

IMG_6208

I was asked to make thirty 30th birthday cookies inspired by Gwen Stefani’s L.A.M.B clothing line, as the recipient was a huge fan of Gwen Stefani. I greeted the challenge with so much excitement because of how fun the patterns were. I decided to base the cookie designs off three iconic prints of the line–bold stripes, a repetitiveĀ black and white pattern, and a grey and orange flowy leopard print.

LAMB

I finished the cookies by donning a few with gold “30”s. These cookies were such a fun and inspiring challenge. It’s always such a treat to receive full creative freedom when it comes to cookie baking. Cookie decorating is just as much a creative outlet as clothing design, so to be able to celebrate the two was such an exciting thing to do.

IMG_6202

May you all have a bold, bright, and Love. Angel. Music. Baby. kind of week!

2 thoughts on “FASHION-FORWARD COOKIES

  1. I was the lucky recipient of these amazing cookies & the second I opened the box I knew they were LAMB inspired. You did a fabulous job & I can tell you they were a HUGE hit! They were so delicious, one of the best tasting cookies I have ever had. Only 2 remained by the end of the night, they were THAT good!!

    • Oh man, that is so great! Thanks for taking the time to comment. I am so glad that you enjoyed the cookies and that you were able to recognize their inspiration. Thanks for having a birthday so I was able to make these :) It was so much fun!

Leave a Comment

